YWAM Ship Update: Day 17

At the village that my healthcare team went to today, we gave 823 immunizations. I broke my own record of sub-q and IM injections in one day by giving between 150-200 shots. I’m so excited because in this day alone I gave more injections than I have in my entire nursing school career. We also finally met the provincial healthcare workers we had been hearing so much about in the last few villages. We were able to partner with them and work side by side, instead of coming in after they had done all the work. That was a beneficial and empowering experience on both sides. Needless, to say we were all very tired at the end of the day.

It’s kind of surreal now that it is almost over. Just like always, it feels like it went so fast, and yet, the first day seems like it was forever ago. Many people are talking about what they will do when they leave the ship on Sunday. Some are headed to different countries for a vacation. Some are headed back to work. Others are just going home to rest. I’m hoping to go home as well, and process this experience. As I sit here trying to think about all that I have seen and done, I can’t even begin to write about it. I’ve always held the firm belief that sort term mission trips are just a gateway to a longer term mission. So now its time to pray. ‘God, what is the long term mission here.’

IMG_6934

Leave a Reply

